PsyDB Artists Labels Releases Samples About

Various Artists - Future Sound Theory

Various Artists - Future Sound Theory
LabelCelestial Dragon
Typecompilation, CD

Listen on Spotify

Antonio Testa - Future Sound Theory


01 Antonio Testa - Lumumba
02 Ochre - Esign
03 Electrypnose - Juste Pour Toi
04 Gaudi - Rain In Dub
05 Dublicate - Peace (Fresh Version)
06 Gel Sol - Cool Sweet Awesome Yay!
07 Nalepa - Pomme Granite Dub
08 Monolake - Digitalis
09 Random - Hybrid (Tokyo Elite Version)
10 edIT - Laundry
11 EOX - Aeon
12 Adron - Klo

This latest compilation by Celestial Dragon, "Future Sound Theory" presents no less than twelve standout tracks ranging in scope from organic sound sculpture to electro dub to melodic glitch. Such an eclectic mix is easily held together by an amazing cross section of the most cutting edge producers in electronic music today... stunning contributions from Gaudi, Testa, Ochre, Monolake, edIT, RaNDom, EOX, Adron, Electrypnose, Nalepa, Gel Sol and Dublicate make this mix a truly international collection of talent.

The organic percussive elements of opening track "Lumumba" (Antonio Testa) set the tone for a journey into an uncharted sound world, leading straight into Ochre's "Esign", which can only be described as a beautiful alien soundscape drifting directly into the subconscious. "Juste Pour Toi" by Electrypnose sets the harmonic and rhythmic stage for the inimitable dub stylings of Gaudi, representing here with "Rain In Dub", which in this context becomes something of a mind-bender.

Dublicate's "Peace", Gel Sol's "Cool Sweet Awesome Yay!" and Nalepa's "Pomme Granite Dub" seamlessly carry the dub flavour uninterrupted, with a hint of the glitch elements to come. "Digitalis" by Monolake picks up the tempo and establishes the trippier elements leading into "Hybrid" care of Tokyo scene stalwarts RaNDom.

Rounding out the mix, edIT's "Laundry" is a tidal wave of audio delight, pushing the tempo and the brain into spirals. "Aeon" by EOX introduces some of the most organic digital elements in the mix, to set the stage for Adron's "Klo", which is simply one of the most understated and beautiful pieces of music you will find. As the title suggests, Future Sound Theory represents cutting edge production values, and it would be fair to say that a compilation of this calibre rarely comes along. It is impressive that so many noted producers have put forth many excellent tracks for the same project. The diversity and range of the music here has been coaxed into an incredibly cohesive mix care of Matt B, and this would be a worthy addition to any serious chill-out collection.

Various Artists - Future Sound Theory: Front