PsyDB Artists Labels Releases Samples About

RND - Ask The Dust

RND - Ask The Dust
LabelCelestial Dragon
Typealbum, CD

Listen on Spotify

RND - Ask The Dust


01 RND - Intro
02 RND - Flok
03 RND - Morose Dub
04 RND - Tell em (Protection Is Con)
05 RND - China-Off White Dub
06 RND - Fuurk
07 RND - Jahrdens
08 RND - Swanlake Dub
09 RND - Negotiations
10 RND - Simulationism
11 RND - Illuminations

RND ( aka RaNDom ) is Mattb's electro-dub project.

Begun in winter 2003 in Tokyo, he released the critically acclaimed demo 'Cuts One' in spring 2004; a mix of electronica and dub cuts and later on Point Two', an explosion of urban electronica and dubby grooves.

Since then RND's tracks have regularly been played by chill-out luminaries such as Nova (Ultimae Records) and Gaudi (Interchill Records). Mary Anne Hobbs of UK's Radio 1 has recently added tracks from As the Dust to her playlist.

Roger Linley (London Philharmonic Orchestra) joined the crew during the 2005 European tour. His melody and basslines added a more organic, thick texture, which became a signature of today's RND sound.

The new album, "Ask The Dust", takes its title from a John Fante novel of the same name. It is an extraordinary mix of Dub,Breaks and Electro glitch, featuring BrotherCulture on vocals and Shinsuke Inoue on tablas.

RND avoids genres in favor of an eclectic brew of flavors, but remains firmly rooted in old-school dub foundations.

From the catchy "Tell em," to the powerful bass driven "Negotiations"; from the strong melodica lines in "Jahrdens," to the minimal stepper "Illuminations," and onwards to the NU-Ska-Breaks of "Simulationsim," Ask The Dust's 11 tracks create a ambitiously wide-ranging sonic experience.

RND - Ask The Dust: Front