PsyDB Artists Labels Releases Samples About

Various Artists - An Taobh Tuathail 2

Various Artists - An Taobh Tuathail 2
LabelPsychonavigation Records
Typecompilation, CD

Listen on Spotify

Various Artists - An Taobh Tuathail Vol 2


01 Susanna & The Magical Orchestra - Believer
02 Colleen - Sun Against My Eyes
03 Ranger 3 - Sense Of Direction
04 Chequerboard - Skating Couple
05 Mad Theory - Numbers
06 Mice Parade - Double Dolphins On The Nickel
07 Cane 141 - Disco Toys (Heftord Remix)
08 Somadrone - Our Ears Were Like Canyons
09 Boxcutter - Bloscid
10 Sarsparilla - Gigi Go Deas
11 Murcof - Rios
12 Hannu - Sumu
13 L. Pierre - Weirs Way
14 Songs Of Green Pheasant - Fires PGR
15 Enrico Coniglio & Elisa Marzorati - Foliage

An Taobh Tuathail (The Other Side) has been broadcasting the cream of underground music from around the globe on RTÉ Raidió na Gaeltachta/ANOCHT FM since May 1999. West Kerry native Cian Ó Cíobháin, who has been presenting the show since its very first broadcast, selects the music Mondays to Fridays, 11pm-1am.
Last year, Ó Cíobháin responded to demands from listeners to release a compilation of the show's favourite music with An Taobh Tuathail Vol 1. After the success of the inaugural installment, it only seemed naturally to release a sequel.

"Much like the first volume", says compiler Ó Cíobhain, "I decided to go down the quieter laneways of modern music. Therefore, once more it's tunes for the head & heart more than the feet, drawing on electronica, modern folk, a touch of Balearic & tunes influenced by classical music. Also, in the vein of Vol 1, I believe that the compilation makes most sense to listen to from beginning to end, rather than trying to make sense of it as a random shuffle'".
The CD features music from international acts such as Murcof, Colleen and Susanna & The Magical Orchestra, tunes from Irish artists Somadrone, Chequerboard & Boxcutter as well as previously unreleased numbers from Mad Theory, Cane 141 (remixed by Heftord) and Ranger 3.

"An Taobh Tuathail Vol II is a continuation of Anocht FM's commitment to showcasing new music from around the world", says Seán Ó hEanaigh, head of programming at the station. "We hope this CD will satisfy the show's current listeners and also hope it will attract attract new listeners to the programme".
The CD will be launched with shows in Dublin, Galway, Cork & Limerick this August featuring sets from Somadrone, R.S.A.G & Alphamono.